Carson Wentz introduction

Bill Streicher-USA TODAY Sports

NFL MVP Odds: Only 3 players ahead of Carson Wentz

Andrew Porter
June 27, 2019 - 9:58 am

The Westgate Las Vegas SuperBook released its 2019 NFL MVP odds on Tuesday, and Carson Wentz is tied for the fourth shortest odds with Saints QB Drew Brees. 

Watch NFL games now on fuboTV.

Kansas City Chiefs quarterback Patrick Mahomes is the favorite after winning the award last season. 

The 6-foot-3, 230-pound Mahomes closed at 35-1 before the 2018 campaign kicked off—tied for the 14th-lowest odds—while being available around 50-1 in the offseason. He posted 5,097 yards and 52 total touchdowns, along with manufacturing the most yards per attempt (8.79 Y/A) among QBs with at least 300 attempts.

In 2017, Wentz was the frontrunner for the award before tearing his ACL late in the season. The Eagles went on to win the Super Bowl that year, but Tom Brady won the MVP—the third of his career. 

QBs have claimed the award in each of the past six seasons, with the Carolina Panthers’ Cam Newton (52-1) and Atlanta Falcons’ Matt Ryan (75-1) producing the highest odds among that group in 2015 and 2016, respectively. Peyton Manning (2008-09/2003-04), Brett Favre (1996-98), Joe Montana (1989-90) and Jim Brown (1957-58) are the lone players to claim the Associated Press’ NFL MVP Award in consecutive seasons.

Mahomes is followed by Aaron Rodgers, who’s won it twice (2011, 2014), and Andrew Luck, both at -800. Cowboys tailback Ezekiel Elliott is the first non-QB listed at 60-1. Below is the full list of odds.

2019 NFL MVP Odds

Patrick Mahomes 4-1

Aaron Rodgers 8-1

Andrew Luck 8-1

Carsen Wentz 10-1

Drew Brees 10-1

Tom Brady 12-1

Philip Rivers 14-1

Russell Wilson 14-1

Ben Roethlisberger 25-1

Matt Ryan 25-1

Baker Mayfield 25-1

Jared Goff 60-1

Cam Newton 60-1

Deshaun Watson 60-1

Matthew Stafford 80-1

Alvin Kamara 80-1

Christian McCaffrey 80-1

Saquon Barkely 80-1

Le’Veon Bell 100-1

Antonio Brown 100-1

Derek Carr 100-1

Julio Jones 100-1

Sam Darnold 100-1

Jameis Winston 100-1

Sony Michel 100-1

Kyler Murray 100-1

Lamar Jackson 100-1

Marcus Mariota 100-1

Melvin Gordon 100-1

Michael Thomas 100-1

Mike Evans 100-1

Nick Chubb 100-1

Odell Beckham Jr. 100-1

Todd Gurley 100-1

Travis Kelce 100-1

Aaron Donald 100-1

Khalil Mack 100-1

Von Miller 100-1

J.J. Watt 100-1

Joey Bosa 100-1

Melvin Ingram 100-1

Myles Garrett 100-1

Mitchell Trubisky 200-1

Nick Foles 200-1

Adam Thielein 200-1

Amari Cooper 200-1

Brandin Cooks 200-1

Devante Adams 200-1

JuJu Smith-Schuster 200-1

Julian Edelman 200-1

Leonard Fournette 200-1

David Johnson 200-1

Derrick Henry 200-1

Devonta Freeman 200-1

James Connor 200-1

Joe Mixon 200-1

Phillip Lindsay 200-1

Dalvin Cook 200-1

Aaron Jones 200-1

Damien Williams 200-1

Fletcher Cox 200-1

Nick Bosa 200-1

Luke Keuchely 200-1

Leighton Vander Esch 200-1

Stefon Diggs 300-1

T.Y. Hilton 300-1

Zach Ertz 300-1

George Kittle 300-1

Tarik Cohen 300-1's Eli Hershkovich contributed to this story.